The 7 Original Virtues (qualities) of the Soul

Essence: The Soul has seven innate qualities inherited from the Supreme soul (God). They are Purity, Peace, Love, Joy, Bliss, Powers, and Knowledge. Let us explore the said virtues and bring them in our practice every-day life. 

1. Purity

Purity is the first virtue and the mother of Peace and Happiness. 

The meaning of purity is not celibacy alone. In fact, the accurate meaning is to have purity in our mind, words and actions. We generally consider the holiness as that of the body. A person is said saint only if his thoughts are also pure. Thoughts are creation of our mind.

So if thoughts are pure, the words we speak will also be right. The subject of being holy (with the physical body) is called Brahmacharya. The subject of being pure in mind, word, and body is the first step towards spirituality. The soul is a point of conscious light with 8 powers and seven virtues.

Practice: I am a pure soul. My every thought is pure and in service of others. My every word is elevated and uplifting. There is no trace of impurity in my thoughts.

2. Peace

'Peace is a garland of your neck' - God father Shiv baba (Source: Murli)

Every human being urges for peace in life. But from where do we get peace? In actuality, peace is the natural stage of soul. Think this, what if you have no burden, no question and no wasteful thought going in your mind. There is this stillness and in that everything is clear. This is peace. This is the natural stage of soul and for it to happen with our mind, we need to guide our thoughts towards the right direction. This is a training of the mind, which is a part of Raja Yoga or meditation.

Practice: I am a peaceful soul. Peace is in my original nature. I am sending our vibrations of peace, reaching all souls and calming, comforting them.

3. Love

'God is love' it is said and love is very powerful. 

Love is a natural feeling of a soul. Love with the supreme soul and with all souls (brothers). We love something that appeals us or is similar to us. When we forget this body and religions, casts and colours of this body and consider the self and everyone as a point of light (soul), then you will see that all are both equal and unique. A soul cannot harm another soul without a body. When self-realisation is achieved, we are connected with all living beings and consider the world as One Family. Then love is the feeling that will flow naturally.

Practice: I the soul is a child of the supreme soul. I am full of love, for all my brothers and sisters. I experience comfort in God's love and the same love I am spreading to the world.

4. Joy

Joy is a momentous feeling of freedom and attainment. 

Happiness depends on attainment (what we received or earn). So are you happy?  If one has peace and love in his life, it will be said that he is happy as well. Of course, as happiness is nothing but a natural feeling when there is peace and loving relationships in our life. Also, there is a deeper joy - a joy of existence. Just because you exist in this world, this feeling arises. Think about this.

Practice: I am a joyful soul. Whatever I do, I do it with joy. It has become my natural state of living. My every karma reflects my inner happiness.

5. Bliss

Bliss is the superior stage of happiness (joy). 

It is beyond any worldly feeling of happiness and sorrow. Bliss means to become 'free' from the experiences of 5 senses (body). This freedom from worldly and bodily matters is the source of this utmost joyous experience.

Such stage was of ours, when we were in the Golden age. Soul experiences bliss, in the company of its spiritual father, the supreme soul. This is Raja Yoga. To have a glance of the stage of bliss, one should surrender his intellect to God and have all the relationships with him alone. 

6. Powers

Spiritual Powers, not physical. Soul has eight innate power within whether in merge or in emerged form. When the powers are in emerged form, they are being used. And when in merged form, they are not used. Yog is the source of these powers and a way to emerge them. Learn more on 8 Powers of Soul.

7. Knowledge

True knowledge is the source of all virtues. It means knowing the creation and its almighty creator.

The source of knowledge is only one  - the ocean of knowledge, the supreme soul.

Knowing the truth about our existence (Who am I?) - the creator and its creation, i.e., God and the World cycle is called spiritual knowledge. Who will speak the truth about the creation? Surely the creator himself will, as no one else then he knows. The source of spiritual knowledge is Murli. The more the soul is filled with the knowledge, the more viceless (pure) and powerful it becomes. We all are such pure, peaceful, joyful, loving, and powerful souls, children of the Supreme soul (Shiv baba). This divine experience of the self is just one realisation away!

*Thought for Today*

'Will Power is the greatest asset of a human soul. Use your will power to benefit the self and the world. Practice.'

Prajapita Brahma Kumaris Ishwariya Vishwa Vidhyalaya

 (Godly Spiritual University)

Established by God, this is the World Spiritual University for Purification of Souls with the knowledge and RajaYoga taught by the Supreme Soul (God), giving his most beneficial advice. 

Established in 1936, by today has more than 8500 centres in around 140 countries. World transformation is taking place. Come and know .more

© 2020  Shiv Baba Service Initiative

Download App :

Android App logo jpg
iOS App for iPhone

Main Address :

Om Shanti Bhawan, 

Madhuban, Mount Abu 

Rajasthan, India  307501

Useful Links

Search logo JPG
YouTube- Bk Shivani
Brahma Kumaris SoundCloud
Facebook - Bk Shivani
Instagram-Brahma Kumaris